Biomedical, Industrial, and Human Factors Engineering
Search for Journal Articles, Conference
Papers, and Patents
Search Internet sites
Search for Books
Professional Societies
Cool sites
Search for Journal Articles,
Conference Papers, and Patents
SCI
(Science Citation Index Expanded): An international interdisciplinary
index. Subjects include aerospace, biomedical research, ceramics,
computer applications and cybernetics, engineering and technology,
ergonomics, instruments and instrumentation, materials science
and many other theoretical and applied sciences. Indexes all
substantive articles but excludes most book reviews.
MEDLINE
A comprehensive index of medical literature in all languages.
Includes all aspects of human medicine. Compiled for physicians
by the National Library of Medicine.
PsycINFO
Includes all languages of psychological literature. The entries
are compiled by the American Psychological Association. A
useful database for human factors engineers looking for literature
on human perception and behaviour.
EJC
(OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center): Electronic Journal Center
(OhioLINK) includes the full text of journals covering biomedical,
systems, interface, logistics ergonomics and industrial engineering.
Scholars can be notified by email about new relevant articles
according to subject, author, or journal title.
More
places to search for papers can be found on the
databases for Biomedical, Industrial, and Human Factors
Engineering list.
Search Internet sites (biomedical,
industrial, and human factors engineering content)
SCIRUS
an Internet search engine for scientific information only.
EEVL
provides a centralized gateway for networked engineering information
in the United Kingdom.
BUBL
annotated list of quality Internet sites.
INFOMINE
annotated guides for electrical and other related engineering
fields; use the browse or search features to isolate specific
interests; Infomine focuses on scholarly resources.
HCI Bibliography
: Human-Computer Interaction Resources indexes
selected technical report literature1990 to present (not full
text).
Search for
Books
Safari
Books Online Technical books from O’Reilly, Sams,
Que, Microsoft, Sun and others; Available on any computer
in the wright.edu domain; Available on computers using WSU
proxy settings
netLibrary
Technical books from MIT, O’Reilly, Que, McGraw-Hill,
Sams and others; Available to anyone/anywhere with a netLibrary
account; Create an account from any wright.edu domain computer
WSU & Affiliates
Library Catalog Books books, journal holdings
information, videos, and collected conference papers; links
to OhioLINK Central Catalog
New Library Books
@ WSU
Professional
Societies
BMES Biomedical
Engineering Society; dedicated to promoting biomedical engineering
knowledge and applications.
INCOSE
International Council on Systems Engineering; develops, nurtures,
and enhances interdisciplinary approaches to system development
and the realization of successful systems.
Human Factors and
Engineering Society promotes the discovery and
exchange of knowledge concerning the characteristics of human
beings that are applicable to the design of systems and devices
of all kinds.
More
professional societies can be found at the Scholarly
Societies Project, Waterloo.
Cool sites
BMEnet
(2003.09.30) The biomedical Engineering Network provides a
convenient overview of jobs, academic opportunities, grants,
conferences, societies, and new developments in biomedical
engineering. BMEnet is updated once a week.
Bad Human Factors
Designs (2003.09.30) Bad Human Factors Designs
is Michael Darnell’s scrapbook of commonly encountered
bad designs. Michael provides a fascinating, illustrated commentary
of bad designs and their influence on everyday lives. This
is a good site to review for design improvement project ideas.