Wright State University
University Libraries Ask a Librarian
Ask a Librarian
Libraries HomeFindServicesAboutQuick Links


First flight of the Wright Brothers

Subject Librarian
Ximena Chrisagis
Fordham Health Sciences Library
937-775-3837
ximena.chrisagis@wright.edu

College of Nursing and Health @ Wright State

 

Research Guides by Subject

Nursing

Find Articles in Nursing, Health, and Medicine
Find Articles in Other Relevant Disciplines (Business, Education, Psychology, etc.)
Find Evidence Based Practice Resources
Find Facts about Drugs and Drug Interactions
Find Images
Selected Web Resources
Find Information about Legislation
Find Health-Related Statistics
Find Tests, Measures, Research Assessment Tools or Instruments

PDA and Smartphone Resources

Psychology Resources (links to the Psychology Research Guide)

Resources for Nurse Authors


Find Articles in Nursing, Health, and Medicine

CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
The most comprehensive tool for finding nursing literature: journal articles, book chapters, care plans, case studies, and more. 1982-present.

CINAHL Tutorial (PowerPoint format)
A guide on how to use the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature database.

MEDLINE via PubMed
Index of biomedical literature that includes a nursing journals limit. 1950-present.

Journals@OVID
Includes the full text for 20 nursing journals. Bibliographic information is available for additional publications.

HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments)
Resource for locating information on assessment tools, measures, instruments.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Access selected scholarly full text articles focusing on health sciences disciplines and clinical care.

PsycInfo
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. 1967-present. Historical section: 1872-1966.

Cochrane Library
Full text reviews of research on the effects of health care interventions.

Social Sciences Citation Index
Includes citations and abstracts in scholarly journals for articles on many disciplines in the social sciences, including nursing. Includes each article's cited reference list. You can also search forward from a known citation (get a list of articles that have cited a previously published article) and search Science Citation Index-Expanded simultaneously.


Find Articles in Other Relevant Disciplines (Business, Education, Psychology, etc.)

Ageline
Produced by the AARP, abstracts the literature of social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social wor economics, public policy, and the health sciences. Covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health. Also includes selected consumer content. 1978-present.

Business Source Complete
Abstracts and full text business-related publications, including academic, professional and trade journals. Includes information on accounting, economics, finance, management and management information systems, marketing and international business. Mostly covers mid-1990s to present.

Education Research Complete
The largest, most comprehensive education database with indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals; full text for over 750 journals; full text for over 100 books, monographs, conference papers, etc.

ERIC
Unique database which indexes over 500 education and education-related journals, 2,200 digests, and 500,000+ ERIC documents from 1966+.

HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments)
Resource for locating information on assessment tools, measures, instruments.

PsycInfo
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. 1967-present. Historical section: 1872-1966.

Social Sciences Citation Index
Includes citations and abstracts in scholarly journals for articles on many disciplines in the social sciences, including nursing. Includes each article's cited reference list. You can also search forward from a known citation (get a list of articles that have cited a previously published article) and search Science Citation Index-Expanded simultaneously.

SocINDEX
The main place to find sociology articles. Lots of full text.

To find additional articles in other disciplines, browse the list of Databases by Subject.


Find Facts about Drugs and Drug Interactions

Clinical Pharmacology
Database of U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs, includes patient education materials.


Find Images

Images.MD
Over 50,000 medical images suitable for use in classroom presentations.


Selected Web Resources

The Nursing Theory Page, Hahn School of Nursing and Health Science
A collaborative effort by an international group interested in developing a collection of resources about nursing theories throughout the world. Includes literature search tips and biographical information about the site's authors.

Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library (from Sigma Theta Tau International)
Through the library’s complimentary Registry of Nursing Research database, individuals have access to search study abstracts and conference abstracts. Primary investigators can be contacted for more information about how to obtain full-text versions of their study.


Find Information about Legislation

For tips on legal research, see Social Welfare Policies and Programs: A Guide to Library and Internet Resources by Social Sciences and Humanities Team Leader Karen Kimber. Although originally developed for SW 721, this guide provides an overview of basic legal research also useful to students in nursing health policy courses.


Find Health-Related Statistics

Health Statistics
Lists major online and print sources for finding statistics on morbidity and mortality, minority health, medical education, and the health professions. Covers national, international, and Ohio sources.


Find Tests, Measures, Research/Assessment Tools or Instruments

Tests and Measures: Library and Internet Resources
Lists major print and online resources for finding information about these tools and how to obtain copies of the actual instruments.

 
 
Contact Us Need Help? Site Search
Copyright Information © 2003 | Accessibility Information
Last updated Wed. Jul-07-04, 09:24
Please send comments to the Web Team.