Libraries HomeFindServicesAboutQuick Links


First flight of the Wright Brothers

Subject Librarian
Karen Kimber
Paul Laurence Dunbar Library
937-775-3034
karen.kimber@wright.edu

Department of Urban Affairs @ Wright State
Center for Urban and Public Affairs @ Wright State

Research Guides by Subject

Urban Affairs

Find Articles on Urban Affairs
Find Facts about Urban Affairs
Government-Related Agencies
Professional Organizations
Related Urban Affairs Guides


Find Articles on Urban Affairs

Academic Search Premier
Covers a wide variety of topics in both scholarly and general interest periodicals, including many articles related to urban affairs. You can limit your to peer-reviewed journals only. Many articles are available in full text.

PAIS International
Identifies and provides abstracts for articles, books, and government publications on public policy issues.

Social Sciences Citation Index
Includes citations and abstracts in scholarly journals for articles on urban affairs, as well as other disciplines in the social sciences. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's bibliography, or cited reference list, you can also search the database for articles that cite a specific author or work.

SocINDEX
Identifies and provides abstracts and full text for scholarly articles and more.


Find Facts about Urban Affairs

Encyclopedia of the City. Dunbar Ref, Call Number HT108.5 .E63 2005
Encyclopedia provides information on such topics as urban planning and sociology.

Key Concepts in Urban Studies. Dunbar Ref, Call Number HT109 .G68 2005
Provides background about urban studies issues.

Municipal and Local Law
Basic information about ordinances and courts at the local level. Includes links to websites with municipals ordinances and locations of printed materials on local law in Dunbar Library.

Ohio Local Government Structure and Finance
Information on municipal, township, and county governments in Ohio. Online version of Bulletin 835, published by the Ohio State University Extension (College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences) in 1998.

State and Local Government on the Net
Lists official state, county, and city government websites. You can click on a state to find all agencies in that state or on a topic to find related agencies in all 50 states.


Government-Related Agencies

HUD User
Provides researchers with access to original data sets generated by research sponsored by the HUD Office of Policy Development and Research.

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
This federal agency’s website has a wealth of information, including full-text publications, on subjects related to urban affairs.


Professional Organizations

Council of State Governments
Provides information of interest to state government officials, including many issues that affect cities.

National Association of Regional Councils
Provides information of interest to regional councils and metropolitan planning organizations.

National Conference of State Legislatures
The organization’s mission is to provide information about issues of concern to state legislators and to act as a bipartisan forum for state legislators. Sections include Policy Issues, which provides links to summaries regarding public policy from a state perspective.

National League of Cities
Includes full-text articles from the three most recent issues of Nation’s Cities Weekly, as well as selected reports published by the organization.

Ohio Municipal League
Provides information on issues affecting Ohio cities.

U.S. Conference of Mayors
The U.S. Conference of Mayors is the official nonpartisan organization of U.S. cities with populations of 30,000 or more. Their website provides information of interest to municipal officials.

Urban Institute
The Urban Institute is a nonpartisan, nonprofit institute which focuses on U.S. cities and urban populations. Their website includes links to many full-text reports.


Related Research Guides

Criminal Justice @ the Libraries

Statistics @ the Libraries

Contact Us Need Help? Site Search
Copyright Information © 2003 | Accessibility Information
Last updated Wed. May-21-08, 10:32
Please send comments to the Web Team.